出口管制法(草案)更新

0
257
Export

国人民代表大会常务委员会于2019年12月28日发布了新的《出口管制法(草案)》( 《2019年草案》),更新了2017年商务部发布的版本。

2019年草案公开征求意见日期于2020年1月26日截止。如果获得通过,《出口管制法》将会是中国第一部全面和综合的出口管制立法,旨在升级中国现存的由多项规定组成的制度。相比于2017年的草案,《2019年草案》有许多重要变化:

报复性措施。2017年草案引发的最具争议的一点是,其他国家对中国采取歧视性措施的,中国政府有权对该国家采取报复性措施。该条款已经从《2019年草案》中删除。目前还没有明确的迹象表明,商务部去年公布的“不可靠实体清单”制度在实施后是会被纳入出口管制法还是会单独制定。

再出口。《2019年草案》删除了对“再出口”的定义(即含有中国管制物项价值达到一定比例的外国产品,从境外出口到其他国家),但在转运和过境活动中仍然提到了“再出口”。

全面控制。以前的全面控制规定是针对可能危害国家安全、存在扩散风险或者被用于恐怖主义目的的出口管制清单之外的物项。这项规定现在被加以澄清,包括被用于设计、开发、生产或者使用大规模杀伤性武器及其运载工具,或者被用于核、生物、化学恐怖主义目的的货物、技术和服务。

主管部门的决定。出口经营者可以提出咨询确定拟出口的物项是否属于《出口管制法》规定的管制物项。《2019年草案》明确指出确定的范围包括技术和服务,并且要求主管部门及时回复相关咨询。不幸的是,《2019年草案》并没有进一步阐明何谓“及时”,以及该等回复是否对主管部门有约束力(类似于海关法规定的海关裁定)。

最终用户和最终用途。现在申请出口许可证时必须要提交最终用户和最终用途作为证明文件(此前是根据要求提供)。

最终用户或最终用途改变时许可和报告。根据2017年的草案,如果最终用户或者最终用途发生改变,进口商应当取得有关部门的许可。在实践中,这可能不太可行,因为进口商在向最终用户交付产品时可能并不一定知道这种改变。根据修订后的草案,最终用户被要求取得该等许可。

此外,如果出口经营者或进口商发现最终用户或者最终用途有可能改变的,应当立即报告有关部门。此前,这项要求仅适用于出口经营者。

申请审批期限。根据之前的草案,两用物项的审批期限为45个工作日,有特殊情况可以延长。《2019年草案》明确了这一期限可以延长15个工作日。

加重处罚。《2019年草案》对某些犯罪行为的刑法大幅增加,并增加了新的犯罪类型。更有趣的是,在自愿报告的情形下可减轻处罚的条款被删除了。在执行法规和指引时是否会引入有关减轻处罚,以及加重处罚和作出行政处罚的权力仍然有待观察。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:张大年(上海)danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

Updates to Draft Export Control Law

0
284
Export

On 28 December 2019, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress (NPC) released a new draft of the Export Control Law (ECL), an update from the 2017 version circulated by MOFCOM.

The 2019 draft was open for public comment until 26 January 2020. If enacted, the ECL will be China’s first comprehensive and consolidated export control legislation, aimed at upgrading the country’s existing regime, which consists of multiple regulations. The 2019 draft features many key changes from the 2017 draft.

Retaliatory measures. One of the most controversial points arising from the 2017 draft was the power for the Chinese authorities to implement retaliatory measures against discriminatory measures taken by other countries against China. This provision has been removed from the 2019 draft. At this stage, there is no clear indication as to whether the “unreliable entity list” announced by MOFCOM in May last year, if implemented, would be integrated into the export control legislation or would be enacted independently.

Re-export. The definition of “re-export” (i.e., the export of items containing above a de minimis amount of PRC controlled content from one foreign country to another foreign country) has been removed from the 2019 draft, but reference to “re-export” is still included in respect of transshipment and transit activities.

Catch-all. The catch-all provision previously provided for controls in relation to unlisted items that may endanger national security, present risk of circulation, or be used for terrorism purposes. This provision is now clarified to cover items that may be used in the design, development, production or use of weapons of mass destruction and their means of delivery, or used for nuclear, biological, or chemical terrorism purposes.

Determination by authorities. An exporter may make an inquiry to determine whether an item is subject to control under the ECL. The 2019 draft clarified that the scope of the determination includes technologies and services, and it now requires the authorities to respond to such inquiry in a timely manner. Unfortunately, the draft does not further clarify what constitutes “a timely manner”, and whether the determination is binding on authorities (similar to customs rulings under customs law generally).

End-use/end user statement (EUS). The submission of an EUS as a supporting document for an export permit application is now mandatory (previously only where required).

Approval and notification when changing end-user or end-use. Under the 2017 draft, where there is a change of end-user or end-use for an item, the importer is required to obtain approval from the authorities. In practice, this may not be feasible as the importer may not necessarily have knowledge of such change upon delivery of the item to the end-user. Under the revised draft, the end-user is required to obtain such approval.

Additionally, where the exporter or importer finds out that the end-user or end-use for the item may change, the exporter or importer is required to immediately report such change to the authorities. Previously, this requirement only applied to the exporter.

Permit application timeline. Under the previous draft, the application timeline for dual-use items is limited to 45 working days, subject to possible extension due to special circumstances. The 2019 draft clarified that such an extension is for a period of an additional 15 working days.

Increased penalties. Under the 2019 draft, the prescribed penalties for a number of offences have increased significantly, and new categories of offences are introduced. More interestingly, the provision relating to penalty mitigation in the case of voluntary disclosure has been removed. It remains to be seen whether provisions relating to penalty mitigation and power to compound offences and issue administrative penalties would be introduced in the implementing regulations and guidelines.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Danian Zhang (Shanghai) at danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com.