刑民交叉下的破产程序推进—以浙江为例

作者: 乃菲莎·尼合买提、鄢文琪,中伦律师事务所
0
428

产案件的数量近年显著提升,刑民交叉问题也越来越突出。尤其涉及企业破产案件时,往往会存在企业、企业实控人或其高管、法定代表人等涉及刑事犯罪之情形,本文将通过参考浙江地区的相关规定,为刑民交叉下的破产程序推进提供新的借鉴思路。

刑民交叉处理模式

目前主要存在“刑民并行”和“先刑后民”两种处理模式。根据《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》(《九民纪要》)第130条和《民事诉讼法》第150条之规定,适用何种处理模式的判断要件为“民商事案件是否必须以相关刑事案件的审理结果为依据”。

bankruptcy
乃菲莎·尼合买提
中伦律师事务所合伙人

在破产程序中,当破产企业、企业实控人、法定代表人等涉及刑事犯罪时,也应以“破产案件中相关程序的处理是否需要以刑事案件的审理结果为依据”来判断。根据浙江省高级人民法院《关于在审理企业破产案件中处理涉集资类犯罪刑民交叉若干问题的讨论纪要》(《纪要》)及浙江省高级人民法院关于印发《关于服务金融改革大局依法妥善审理民间借贷纠纷案件的若干意见》的通知的相关规定,采取何种处理模式的核心依据在于涉案的财产与破产财产是否能够区分:

“刑民并行”处理模式。(1)破产企业涉及刑事案件时,涉案财产和债务人企业的其他财产可以区分,就可认为民商事案件的解决不需刑事案件的审理结果为依据。(2)企业破产案件受理后,企业控股股东、实际控制人、法定代表人及其他企业高管涉嫌犯罪,但负责涉嫌犯罪行为侦查、检察和审判的机关认为刑事诉讼程序对法院审理企业破产案件不构成实质性影响,且刑事涉案财产与债务人企业的其他财产可以区分,也可认为民商事案件的解决不需要刑事案件的审理结果为依据。

bankruptcy
鄢文琪
中伦律师事务所实习律师

“先刑后民”处理模式。(1)破产程序需要以刑事案件的审理结果为依据,判断具体依据为涉案的财产与破产财产高度混同以致无法区分。(2)企业破产案件受理后,发现企业控股股东、实际控制人、法定代表人及其他企业高管涉嫌犯罪的。

刑事受害人的清偿顺位

先刑后民模式。刑事受害人能够通过刑事退赔从而优先获得清偿。

根据《中华人民共和国刑法》第六十四条及《最高人民法院关于刑事裁判涉财产部分执行的若干规定》第十条规定,当刑事案件判决后,受害人可通过刑事退赔的方式获得优先清偿。

刑民并行模式。刑事受害人的清偿顺位是否优先,应取决于涉案的赃款赃物是否能与破产财产剥离,或赃款赃物能否特定化。

(1)刑事受害人优先受偿

适用情况:当涉案的赃款赃物能与破产财产剥离或赃款赃物能够特定化,此时刑事受害人应优先清偿。

如何优先:赃款赃物作为债务人非法占有的财产,可依据《破产法》第三十八条规定的取回权取回。

依据:根据浙江省高级人民法院《纪要》第十条规定,因债务人的犯罪行为而非法占有的不属于债务人的财产,可在刑事判决生效后,由受害人通过管理人取回。《刑法》第六十四条将犯罪分子从被害人处取得的财产界定为“违法所得”,此时赃款赃物是不属于债务人的、且被债务人非法占有的财产,在赃款赃物能与破产财产剥离或能特定化之时,可以通过取回权取回而优先受偿。

(2)刑事受害人与债权人同顺位清偿

适用情况:当涉案的赃款赃物不能与破产财产剥离或无法特定化,刑事受害人与债权人应处于同一顺位清偿。

如何同顺位清偿:此时无法明确区分赃款赃物和破产财产,取回权行使受阻。刑事受害人通过债权申报的方式进行救济是最为妥善的处理方式。

依据:正是因为无法区分赃款赃物和破产财产,因此可把刑事受害人的权利纳入到破产法体系中解决,使其与普通债权人处于同一顺位来受偿。

在该种情况下,笔者建议可参照《纪要》第八条,在刑事程序尚未终结之时,管理人可将登记为破产债权的刑事受害人的分配额留存,以维护刑事受害人的相关权益。

债权申报问题

申报债权的名义。参照《纪要》第四条,以是否列入刑事案件受害人为依据对申报债权的名义进行了规定:(1)未列入受害人范围的相关机构和个人可以以民间借贷债权人名义申报债权;(2)列入集资犯罪受害人的,可作为破产债权人申报债权,同时给予受害人在破产程序中的临时表决权。

刑民并行时保全应解除、执行应中止。根据浙江省高级人民法院关于印发《关于服务金融改革大局依法妥善审理民间借贷纠纷案件的若干意见》的通知第4条,以及中共浙江省委、浙江省人民政府《关于完善产权保护制度依法保护产权的实施意见》第12条均提及在受理企业破产申请后,对相关财产保全措施和执行程序,要依法解除保全、中止执行。

财产分配

预留犯罪受害人债权分配额。根据《纪要》第八条的规定,在刑事诉讼程序尚未终结时,管理人可将登记为破产债权的犯罪受害人的分配额留存。此外,《纪要》还创造性提出可针对三类财产作出附条件的分配方案:(1)解除刑事查封、冻结措施后交由企业破产程序分配的财产;(2)刑事诉讼程序终结后追回的财产;(3)不属于涉集资类犯罪赃款赃物,依法发还的债务人企业合法财产。

债务人及企业股东和高管的财产合并处置。(1)合并处置前提:企业财产和企业股东或高管的财产高度混同。(2)由法院对合并处置作出决定:高度混同的前提之下,法院在结合债权人会议讨论意见,或者征询主要债权人和相关部门的意见后,作出将债务人企业及“企业股东及高管”的财产合并处置的裁定。(3)保留相关人员生活必需费用:在合并处置清算分配方案中,应当注意保留合并破产的企业股东及高管自身及其所抚养家属的生活必需费用,以此达到维护社会稳定的效果。

乃菲莎·尼合买提中伦律师事务所合伙人。她的联系方式为电话+21 6061 3177以及电邮 naifeisha@zhonglun.com

鄢文琪是中伦律师事务所实习律师。她的联系方式为电话+21 6061 3177以及电邮 ritayan@zhonglun.com

中伦所授薪合伙人王荐芹对本文亦有贡献。她的联系方式为电话+21 6061 3177 以及电邮 wangjianqin@zhonglun.com

Zhejiang bankruptcy procedure involving criminal and civil liabilities

By Nafisa Nihmat and Rita Yan, Zhong Lun Law Firm
0
199

In recent years, the number of bankruptcy cases has increased significantly, and the issue of the cases involving both criminal and civil liabilities has become more prominent, especially in the case of enterprise bankruptcy, where an enterprise or its actual controller, executive or legal representative is often involved in criminal crimes. This article provides new reference ideas for the promotion of bankruptcy procedure in cases involving both criminal and civil liabilities, by reference to the relevant provisions of Zhejiang province.

HANDLING MODE FOR CASES

At present, there are mainly two handling modes – “criminal procedure paralleling civil procedure” and “criminal procedure preceding civil procedure”. Pursuant to article 130 of the Minutes of the National Working Conference on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases by Courts, and article 150 of the Civil Procedure Law, the test for which mode to apply is “whether civil and commercial cases must be based on the trial results of relevant criminal cases”.

bankruptcy
Nafisa Nihmat
Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm

In bankruptcy procedure, when the bankrupt enterprise, or its actual controller or legal representative, is involved in criminal cases, it should be determined by the test of “whether the relevant procedures in bankruptcy cases need to be based on the trial results of criminal cases”.

In accordance with the relevant provisions of the Summary of Discussions on the Handling of Cases Involving Both Criminal and Civil Liabilities in the Trial of Enterprise Bankruptcy Cases Involving Fund-raising Crimes by Zhejiang High People’s Court, and the Notice of Zhejiang High People’s Court on Printing and Distributing the Opinions on Serving the Overall Situation of Financial Reform and Properly Hearing Private Lending Disputes in Accordance with Laws, the core basis of which handling mode to adopt lies in whether the property involved in a case can be distinguished from the bankruptcy property.

bankruptcy
Rita Yan
Trainee
Zhong Lun Law Firm

The “criminal procedure paralleling civil procedure” handling mode. This mode is applied: (1) when bankrupt enterprises are involved in criminal cases and the property involved in the case can be distinguished from other properties of the debtor enterprises, in which case it can be considered that the settlement of civil and commercial cases does not need to be based on the trial results of criminal cases; and (2) where, after the enterprise bankruptcy case is accepted by the court, the controlling shareholders, actual controllers, legal representative or other executives of the enterprise are suspected of committing a crime, but the authorities responsible for the investigation, prosecution and trial of the suspected criminal acts believe that the criminal procedure will not have a substantial impact on the court’s hearing of the enterprise bankruptcy case, and where the property involved in criminal cases can be distinguished from other properties of the debtor enterprise.

The “criminal procedure preceding civil procedure” handling mode. This mode is applied: (1) when the bankruptcy procedure needs to be based on the trial results of criminal cases, the specific test of which is that the property involved in the case and the bankruptcy property are highly confused and cannot be distinguished; and (2) where it is found after the enterprise bankruptcy case is accepted by the court that the controlling shareholders, actual controllers, legal representative or other executives of the enterprise are suspected of committing a crime.

PRIORITY OF COMPENSATION

The “criminal procedure preceding civil procedure” mode. The criminal victims can get prioritized compensation through the criminal restitution. In accordance with article 64 of the Criminal Law and article 10 of the Provisions of the Supreme People’s Court on Partial Execution of Criminal Judgments Involving Property, when a criminal case is adjudicated, the victim can get prioritized compensation through the criminal restitution.

The “criminal procedure paralleling civil procedure” mode. The priority of the criminal victim’s compensation depends on whether the illicit money and goods involved in the case can be separated from the bankruptcy property, or whether the illicit money and goods involved can be specified.

Criminal victims have priority in compensation:

Application: When the illicit money and goods involved in the case can be separated from the bankruptcy property, or when the illicit money and goods involved can be specified, the criminal victim will have priority in compensation.

Priority: As the property illegally possessed by the debtor, the illicit money and goods can be retrieved pursuant to the recall right stipulated in article 38 of the Bankruptcy Law.

Basis: In accordance with article 10 of the Summary of Zhejiang High People’s Court, the property not owned by the debtor, which is illegally possessed by it due to its criminal act, can be retrieved by the victim through the administrator after the criminal judgment takes effect. Article 64 of the Criminal Law defines the property obtained by criminals from victims as “illegal gains”. At this time, the illicit money and goods are not owned by the debtor but are illegally possessed by the debtor. When the illicit money and goods can be separated from the bankruptcy property, or can be specified, the victims can retrieve them through the recall right, and have priority in compensation.

Criminal victims and creditors have the same priority of repayment:

Application: When the illicit money and goods involved in the case cannot be separated from the bankruptcy property, or specified, the criminal victim and the creditor should be repaid in the same order.

How to repay in the same order: At this time, it is impossible to clearly distinguish the illicit money and goods from the bankruptcy property, and the exercise of the recall right is blocked. The best way to deal with the criminal victim’s relief is by way of declaration of claims.

Basis: Since it is impossible to distinguish the illicit money and goods from the bankruptcy property, the rights of criminal victims can be incorporated into the bankruptcy law system, so that they can be realized in the same order as ordinary creditors. In this case, the authors suggest referring to article 8 of the above-mentioned summary, under which, when the criminal procedure is not over, the administrator can retain the quota of criminal victims registered as bankruptcy claims to protect the relevant rights and interests of criminal victims.

DECLARATION OF CLAIMS

In whose name to declare claims. Article 4 of the summary provides that the name of claim declaration is based on whether creditors are classified as victims of criminal cases: (1) relevant entities and individuals not classified as victims can declare their claims in the name of private lending creditors; and (2) those who are classified as victims of fund-raising crime can declare their claims as bankruptcy creditors, and at the same time the victims are given temporary voting rights in bankruptcy proceedings.

When criminal procedure parallels civil procedure, the preservation should be relieved and the execution should be suspended. In accordance with article 4 of the Notice of Zhejiang High People’s Court on Printing and Distributing the Opinions on Serving the Overall Situation of Financial Reform and Properly Hearing Private Lending Disputes in Accordance with Law, and article 12 of the Implementation Opinions on Improving Property Rights Protection System and Protecting Property Rights According to Law, issued by the Zhejiang Provincial Committee of the CPC and Zhejiang Provincial People’s Government, after the bankruptcy application of an enterprise is accepted, the relevant property preservation measures and execution procedures shall be terminated and suspended according to law.

DISTRIBUTION OF PROPERTY

Reserve the quota of criminal victims’ claims. In accordance with article 8 of the summary, when the criminal proceedings are not over, the administrator may retain the quota of the criminal victims, which are registered as bankruptcy claims.

The summary also creatively puts forward a conditional distribution scheme for the following three types of property: (1) the property handed over to the enterprise bankruptcy procedure for distribution after the criminal sealing and freezing measures are lifted; (2) the property recovered after the end of the criminal procedure; and (3) the legal property of the debtor enterprise that is not involved in the crime of fundraising and is returned according to law.

The assets of the debtor, the shareholders and the executives of the enterprise are jointly disposed of. (1) Premise of joint disposal: The property of the enterprise is highly confused with that of the shareholders or executives of the enterprise. (2) The court should make a decision on the joint disposal: Under the premise of high confusion, the court should make a decision on the joint disposal of the property of the debtor enterprise, and the “shareholders and executives of the enterprise”, after consulting the opinions of the creditors’ meeting, or the major creditors and relevant departments. (3) Keep the necessary living expenses of relevant personnel: In the joint disposal, liquidation and distribution scheme, attention should be paid to keeping the necessary expenses of the shareholders and executives of the bankrupt enterprise and their dependents in order to maintain social stability.

Nafisa Nihmat is a partner at Zhong Lun Law Firm. She can be contacted on +21 6061 3177 or by email at naifeisha@zhonglun.com

Rita Yan is a trainee at Zhong Lun Law Firm. She can be contacted on +21 6061 3177 or by email at ritayan@zhonglun.com

Joyce Wang, a salaried partner at the firm, also contributed. She can be contacted on +21 6061 3177 or by email at wangjianqin@zhonglun.com